Start of spring practice moved back

Comments (...) | Add Comments

Buy Daily Chronicle NIU photos →

Northern Illinois was originally scheduled to open spring practice Wednesday afternoon, but the Huskies' return to the field has been pushed back a week due to the weather. With the Chessick Center scheduled to open in the fall, this won't be a problem in the future, but NIU head coach Rod Carey thought it would be best to change things around.

"I'm not afraid of the weather and I really don't care if its cold. I will say this, is that we wanted to give ourselves he best opportunity to get the most work done," Carey said at Tuesday's pre-spring press conference. "We had an opportunity to move things back, so we did. Next week if it's this cold, there are no more opportunities, so were going out and we're practicing. So bundle up if you're coming."

NIU will take the field for the first time since the Orange Bowl on Wednesday, March 27 at 3:20 p.m. at Huskie Stadium. The annual spring game will be held Saturday, April 13 at 2:30 p.m. For the first time, NIU will hold the Huskie Bowl on Saturday, April 20 (time TBA). Offensive line coach Joe Tripodi will coach the "Cardinal" squad and linebackers coach Kevin Kane will coach the "Black." Each coach will draft a team, while Bob Cole will run the offense for both teams with Jay Niemann taking care of the defense. More on this in Wednesday's Daily Chronicle.

Here's the full spring practice schedule. All dates and times are tentative and subject to change:

Wednesday, March 27 – 3:20 p.m.

Friday, March 29 – 3:50 p.m.

Saturday, March 30 – 1:05 p.m.

Monday, April 1 – 3:20 p.m.

Wednesday, April 3 – 3:20 p.m.

Friday, April 5 – 3:50 p.m.

Saturday, April 6 – 3:25 p.m.

Monday, April 8 – 3:20 p.m.

Wednesday, April 10 – 3:20 p.m.

Friday, April 12 – 3:50 p.m.

SPRING GAME: Saturday, April 13 – 2:30 p.m.

Monday, April 15 – 3:20 p.m.

Tuesday, April 16 – 7:40 a.m.

Friday, April 19 – 3:50 p.m.

HUSKIE BOWL: Saturday, April 20 (TBA)

Comments

Add Comments

Click here to read the rules for posting comments

You must register with a valid email to post comments. Only your member ID will be posted with the comments.

Registered users sign in here:

Become a Registered User

*Member ID:
*Password:
Forgot Your Password?

Will the NIU football team play for the MAC title this year?
Yes
No
Too soon to tell