Created:Friday, August 19, 2011 2:32 p.m.CST
FONT SIZE:

NIU men's hoops schedule released

Northern Illinois released its 2011-12 men's basketball schedule Friday afternoon.

As has been previously reported, the Huskies begin their first season under coach Mark Montgomery on Nov. 11 with a road trip to Purdue. Their home opener is Nov. 14 against Wisconsin-Milwaukee. Other notable non-conference games include a Nov. 17 game at Iowa, a trip to Boise State (Nov. 26) and Illinois-Chicago (Dec. 10), and a home game against Southern Illinois (Dec. 17). The program will also play an ESPNU BracketBuster game Feb. 18.

NIU's Mid-American Conference season begins with a Jan. 7 home game against Eastern Michigan. The Huskies will have one two-game MAC homestand (against Buffalo on Jan. 28 and Ohio Feb. 1) and one two game road trip (Eastern Michigan on Feb. 22, Central Michigan on Feb. 26). All other conference games alternate home and away.

Here's a look at the full schedule. Times have not yet been finalized.

Friday, Nov. 4: Carthage College (Exhibition)

Friday, Nov. 11: at Purdue

Monday, Nov. 14: Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Thursday, Nov. 17: at Iowa

Sunday, Nov. 20: Eastern Illinois

Saturday, Nov. 26: at Boise State

Monday, Nov. 28: at Utah Valley

Saturday, Dec. 3: Nebraska-Omaha

Saturday, Dec. 10: at Illinois-Chicago

Wednesday, Dec. 14: DePaul

Saturday, Dec. 17: Southern Illinois

Tuesday, Dec. 20: Valparaiso

Monday, Jan. 2: Roosevelt University

Saturday, Jan. 7: Eastern Michigan

Wednesday, Jan. 11: at Western Michigan

Saturday, January 14: Central Michigan

Wednesday, Jan. 18: at Toledo

Saturday, Jan. 21: Ball State

Wednesday, Jan. 25: at Kent State

Saturday, Jan. 28: Buffalo

Wednesday, Feb. 1: Ohio

Saturday, Feb. 4: at Bowling Green

Wednesday, Feb 8: Miami (Ohio)

Saturday, Feb. 11: at Akron

Wednesday, Feb. 15: Western Michigan

Saturday, Feb. 18: at ESPNU BracketBuster

Wednesday, Feb. 22: at Eastern Michigan

Saturday, Feb. 26: at Central Michigan

Wednesday, Feb. 29: Toledo

Friday or Saturday, March 2 or 3: at Ball State

Mid-American Conference Tournament

Monday, March 5: First round

Wednesday, March 7: Second round

Thursday, March 8: Quarterfinals

Friday, March 9: Semifinals

Saturday, March 10: Final

Does NIU coach Rod Carey get enough credit for NIU's season?
Yes
No